The role of our school governors is, as a group, to work strategically towards school improvement, to hold the school leadership team to account for improving performance whilst offering support and advice, and to make sure money is well spent.
The governing body has a range of duties and powers and works in partnership with the headteacher and staff to help the school achieve the best educational outcomes for its pupils. Its responsibilities include but are not limited to:
• setting targets for pupil achievement
• monitoring and evaluating progress towards the school’s priorities
• deciding how the allocated budget is to be spent
• making sure the curriculum is balanced and broadly based
• appointing staff
The governing body appoints a chair and vice-chair annually and allocates its responsibilities across various committees. The governing body meets in full at least once every term, as do the finance, curriculum and building committees.
School governors are drawn from different parts of the community and can be parents and staff or from the LA, the community and other groups. This helps ensure the governing body has sufficient diversity of views and experience but does not mean governors of a particular category represent that group on the governing body.
Parent governors are drawn from parents and carers of children at the school and are selected by election.
Staff governors are selected by election from teaching and support staff paid to work at the school.
The headteacher is always invited to join the governing body by reason of their role in the school.
Local authority governors are appointed by the local authority.
Foundation governors are appointed by Grimsargh St Michael’s Parochial Church Council.

Name Type of Governor (updated September 2021)

Mrs T Fryer (Foundation)
Mr W Bretherton (Parent)
Mr W Clarke (Parent)
Mrs S Cowell (Foundation)
Mr J Galbraith (Foundation)
Reverend N Salt (Foundation)
Mr S Booth (Headteacher)
Mr G Lindley (Local Authority)
Mr N Mawdsley (Foundation)
Miss H Smith (Observer)
Mrs L Garner (Observer)

Governor Committees